How to restore a missing memo window in Palm Desktop ver. 6.2.2 on Windows 7

This entry is off-topic for my blog, but I’m compelled to offer a solution to a problem related to Palm Desktop ver 6.2.2 that I couldn’t find in any other Palm-related threads online.

I’m one of those old-school PDA folks who began building an electronic address book and reams of memos a couple of decades ago. For years, I used Palm devices until I eventually had to migrate to an Android device. (How to manage that move is whole other story.)

As it turns out, you can still use Palm Desktop to sync with other devices. I use CompanionLink to sync my address book and memos. Palm Desktop has been a sturdy no-frills platform, and I expect I’ll keep using it as long as I can.

palmlogo

However, I’ve run into a recurring, pernicious, and mysterious problem. Every once in a while, I try to edit a memo in Palm Desktop, the editing window does not appear. It seems as if the software locks up. When I try to click on another memo or do anything in the main Desktop window, I get an error beep.

I realized a while back that the software has NOT locked up. The problem is that the memo editing window HAS opened, but it is somewhere off-screen. If one hits the Esc key, the missing edit window is closed and the main Palm software is accessible again (no error beeps).

When a window is missing, many folks suggest right-clicking on the clock/date display in the task-bar in Windows 7 and selecting “Cascade windows”. This can be helpful in other lost-window situations, but for some reason it does not seem to work for a missing Palm window.

BUT, I just discovered a solution at techspot.com that does work for Palm Desktop. They write:

“Bring the troubled window to focus by clicking on it in the taskbar (or Alt+Tab) [ = make Palm Desktop active]. Now you can simply hold the Windows key on your keyboard and tap the arrow keys. With any luck, your missing window will snap back into view.”

I hope this post may help others who come across the same annoying problem.  It is MUCH easier than uninstalling and re-installing, which is often advised.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

